Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was rich once, not in money
but in stationary,
dripping with your ink
of lovely words for me.

I was rich once, not in money
but in chocolatey kissed candy,
from every holiday including
from the Easter bunny.

I was rich once, not in money
but in funny
secret jokes
laughter evoked
between you and me only.

I was rich once, not in money
but in honey
sweetened by bees that lived in the trees and flowers,
my tea always tasted of their beautiful journey.

I was rich once, now I am poor
the honey is no more,
the jokes are no more,
the chocolatey kisses have fallen from my lips,
the inky stationary is all I have left.

20131121-111021.jpg

I Was Rich Once 120 words
Written for 5 Sentence Fiction
Lillie McFerrin Writes ā€“ Five Sentence Fiction ā€“ Letters
http://lilliemcferrin.com/five-sentence-fiction-letters/

Lillie McFerrin Writes
