Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20140102-112926.jpg
For 2014 I declare that I will AIM high in every area of my life (Physical, Financial, Emotional, and Spiritual).

Artistically~
Improve~
Myself~
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Artistically~
adjective
1 : of, relating to, or characteristic of art or artists
2 : showing imaginative skill in arrangement or execution

ar·tis·ti·cal·ly \-ti-k(ə-)lē\ adverb

Improve~
transitive verb
1 archaic : employ, use
2 a : to enhance in value or quality : make better
b : to increase the value of (land or property) by making it more useful for humans (as by cultivation or the erection of buildings)
c : to grade and drain (a road) and apply surfacing material other than pavement
3 : to use to good purpose intransitive verb
1 : to advance or make progress in what is desirable
2 : to make useful additions or amendments

Myself~
pronoun
1 : that identical one that is I — used reflexively , for emphasis , or in absolute constructions
2 : my normal, healthy, or sane condition

I have never publicly professed what I would resolve or declare to do in a new year.
I have always chosen a declaration or commonly known as resolution, they have always been private and personal, between me, myself, and I.
This year is different, I have accepted Trifecta’s challenge #99.

I thank Trifecta for the challenge, that has me getting myself even further out of my comfort zone than I would have imagined just 1 short year ago.
I am so thankful for the opportunity to partake in the Trifecta weekly challenges.
Trifecta is the reason that I started my blog on WordPress, just 10 short weeks ago.
Trifecta has allowed me to “show off” my words that I have always written, but never allowed myself the courage to share publicly.
Through reading other amazing writers who also participate weekly, I have found other writing prompts and challenges to participate in, further stretching myself.

Just 1 short year ago:
~I journaled several times a day.
~I wrote poetry on my Blackberry in the note section.
Guarding both my notebooks and phone so no one could read what I had written.

In the middle of January of 2013, I was informed about a class called The Artist’s Way. It was being held on a day that wasn’t convenient for my family, so I decided to buy the book and do the 12 weeks myself.

In early February of 2013, I joined a local writer’s group. I attended every meeting but, was unwilling to share my poetry.

In June of 2013, a professor from a local University spent 3 weeks ( 3 one hour sessions) teaching our group the fine art of modern Haiku. He and his wife publish books and a magazine of Haiku. They are leaders in HNA (Haiku North America). I waited until the day before our last session to email my Haiku to them out of fear that my writing was not up to par. However, during that last class we played a game called Kukai, where you pick between two Haiku in rounds tournament style. We did not know the authors of the Haiku. Our group voted, four of my Haiku made it into the final rounds. One of my pieces was picked as champion:

a morning without you
Summer Solstice
the longest day of the year

This blind recognition boosted my self esteem, I saw that my words were beautiful to the members– including the professor’s wife ( they didn’t just say so just to be nice), as well as to this professor who was the authority on Haiku.

In the middle of August of 2013, I decided to get an iPhone. My plan was to switch from my Blackberry and embrace Apple. I was hesitant to say the least. I downloaded a few apps and was waiting for my techie 20 year old son to show me the iPhone ropes. He is quite busy in the summer, being a lifeguard in addition to his staff position as assistant sound technician at our church. He was taking college classes and had a new blooming friendship with a young lady, so helping me was low on his list.

Having 2 weeks to decide if I was going to keep the iPhone or not, without my son’s tutorial, I decided to play around. Heyku is an app for Haiku or just expressing yourself in 3 lines with a maximum of 6 words per line. I played there first. I was hooked after posting the first one. Heyku is the reason I kept the iPhone, I wrote 600+ Heyku in less than 2 months.

Heyku is where I met an amazing woman, Grace Black. I noticed she had a blog so I signed up to receive her posts in my email box. A few weeks later I emailed her to talk about being a “real writer”. She gave me some encouraging advice and support , while nudging me to start my own WordPress blog. She told me about Trifecta’s 33 word weekend challenge, I figured it was time to expand myself from the 18 word limit of Heyku.

At the end of October of 2013, using my iPhone, I started my blog and entered my first Trifecta challenge, along with Grace and another Heyku friend, Jason. The warm welcome and support from participating Trifectians, was wonderful. I competed in several other Trifecta challenges and found other places that had prompts of words, photographs or word limits. I was hooked on this blogging idea and was coming further out of my comfort zone. Finding others outside of the Trifecta community who encourage me to continue to share my words, has been a gift that I wasn’t prepared for but I am so thankful for.

In November and December of 2013, I started sharing photographs on my blog. Before becoming a mother to 10 children, I was an active hobby B&W photographer, developing my own film.
In these months I have been honored with several blog awards. People from many countries around this big beautiful world were reading my words and finding value in what I was doing. Further taking me out of my comfort zone.

I opened myself further by starting: Tumblr blog,
Blogger blog (to more easily communicate with Trifectians and others not on WordPress),
About.me,
Facebook,
and Twitter.
I am slowly learning how to use all of these platforms to reach more people around the world with my words.

2014 is going to be a wonderful year as I reach my AIM resolution by aiming higher and further than I have ever imagined just 1 short year ago, with my words and iPhone photography.
I will be getting an Mac Pro in the next few days, further embracing Apple and the fact that what I have to say and share is important.

Join me on my new blog, A Creative Space that will be focusing on The Artist’s Way and other resources to encourage and inspire the creativity locked inside of each human to be released. As this happens I hope and pray that others will AIM further as well, taking themselves out of comfort zones that they were in just 1 short year ago.

In a few weeks, will open another blog that I’m starting here focused on helping people reach their health goals.
After my 10th child was born, I went from a size 12 to a size 4 in 12 short weeks. As a Life & Health coach, I have helped many people Change Habits And Make Progress.
CHAMP Camp is for anyone who desires little or big changes in their physical life.

In March I will be launching another blog focusing on the mostly ups and sometimes downs of being a single homeschool mother to 10 children and 3 dogs. Join me as I celebrate The Life And Times Of Us

I love this Thoreau quote, it sums up my 2014 AIM resolution perfectly.

20140102-113108.jpg

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
AIM
Written for Trifecta challenge #99
Thank you to Webster’s for the definitions!

Happy 2014 to all of you beautiful souls that follow this blog, like what I have to say, and comment. You are all amazing humans and I’m so glad we have found each other.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Read the rules and link up below.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Welcome back, brave Trifectans! And now on to our first challenge of 2014.

Michael Hess inspired us with his three word New Year’s resolution – just be nice. We’re asking for your own resolutions in just three words. Make it count; we’ll be checking back in come 2015.

And since this is our ninety-ninth Trifextra challenge, we’re giving away the journal shown below from Tricerashops, our Cafe Press shop, in a randomly drawn giveaway. All you have to do to be entered is to enter this week’s challenge. Good luck and good writing.

Ray Bradbury quote journal

This weekend’s challenge is community judged.
For the 48 hours following the close of the challenge, voting will be enabled on links.
In order to vote, return to this post where stars will appear next to each link. To vote, simply click the star that corresponds with your favorite post.
You can vote for your top three favorite posts.
Voting is open to everyone.
Trifecta

20140102-123323.jpg

